CAN’T WE JUST PRETEND

You said goodbye and you simply walked away,
Never saw my tears, your back was turned my way.
And now, here you are, looking into my eyes;
My heart’s beating again I believe,
As my thoughts go astray –

Oh, can’t we just pretend that you never really left
And it wasn’t goodbye after all?
Can’t we just pretend that my tears were all you really felt
Falling like the leaves in every fall?

As you stand before me now,
I see an apology written in your eyes,
But I think if I should go back,
Would it be wise,
I keep wondering –

Oh, can’t we just pretend that I never really ended
Between us on that September night?
Can’t we just pretend that we’re still so in love
And we never got into a fight?
Oh, can’t we?

You come closer and I want to run away somewhere
But my heart doesn’t want to be anywhere but here.
It was you, it was you,
It was you all along.
Now that you’ve given me a second chance
I just want to sing this song –

Oh, can’t I just pretend to be happy again
With you right here with me?
And can’t we just pretend to be best friends
And lovers all over again?

You take my face in your hands again
And I’m just asking in my mind –

Can’t we just pretend that the raindrops
Are falling stars and if we catch one
We can just wish the past away?

I feel your lips on mine again,
But here I’m just wondering –

Oh, can’t we just pretend that this kiss is our first ever
And promise this time that we’ll last forever?
Can’t we just pretend that this isn’t just another dream,
Another way to escape reality?
Oh, can’t we just pretend…?

About Khushboo

I'm 17, and have had a passion for writing since I was a kid. I write fanfiction, and rant occasionally on a lot of topics. Currently trying my hand at poems. I make signatures for online Forums as well...learned PhotoShop all by myself. Now ain't that nice?! :D
This entry was posted in Poems, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to CAN’T WE JUST PRETEND

  1. Aisha says:

    Hey Khush! Really love the way you wrote this poem! Beautiful and emotional. You’re so good at writing poetry! Do write more! 🙂 lots of love

    • Khushboo says:

      Aishuuuuu *hugs* It’s been AGES since I last heard from you! How’re you? 😀
      Thanks so much…well I’m still in experimenting mode 😉 Thanks for the kind words sweetie *jhappiz*

  2. Prash says:

    Hey , This is nice and I thought very personal and apparently from your comments it is . Nice , liked it a lot . And you have a nice blog . Willl check out all the other posts too .

    And yes on a different note, your FF “Sometimes when we touch” is brilliant . I must have said this before too , but I’ll say it yet again , I loved every bit of it .

    • Khushboo says:

      Thanks Pra…well I figured that the best way to deal with it would be to write about it 🙂 Helped a lot, that did 😀
      Thanks…that FF was serious hard work…glad to know that you enjoyed it!

  3. Khush,

    This one , i liked better than the other 🙂 There is hurt from past, there is hope for better tomorrow and there is love that was there always.. I liked the tone this poem has…. i liked all of it until end… thats where i was hoping something more than just Hope.. probably optimist in me? I was wishing for something more than just wish to pretend…. 🙂

    • Khushboo says:

      I like this one better too 😉 😀
      It’s something from life…and there’s less of sadism and more of realism here. It’s what I’m living at the moment – that’s what I’ve been writing for a long time. Almost all of them are from life.
      Even I wish for something more than just to pretend, but we don’t always get what we want, do we? 🙂

  4. Neha says:

    Nice one Khush, beautifully written. I loved the poem to the core.
    Don’t say that you’re bad at poetry. I think you have really improved a lot.
    Keep writing!

  5. Sayra says:

    Hey khush thats a lovelyyyyyyyy poem ^^ its so cute :
    Now that you’ve given me a second chance
    I just want to sing this song – Amit singing again :p ! Keep it up jana you are so multitalented, God Bless^^

Leave a Reply

